Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stonesriver_gw

Bushy Episcias

stonesriver
19 years ago

Hello:

I am new to Episcias. I have succssfully grown AVs (especially mini and semi-mini trailers), Columneas and Begonias for a long time.

When my Columneas start to look sparse in the center, I pinch them back to encourage them to fill the pot.

What about Episcias? I have to confess, I love foliage and don't care much one way or the other if the Columneas or Episcias ever bloom. I want the Episcias to be more bushy and compact.

Some of mine are already trailing and "leggy." Is repotting (like the tutorial on Rob's web site) the only way? Or can I remove stolons?

Thanks so much,

Linda

Comments (3)

• robitaillenancy1
    19 years ago

When you remove stolons on episcias that gives them the opportunity to grow larger and/or flower. If you pinch off all stolons, the one or two stolens that are growing have a good chance to increase to a good size. Then you allow a well placed stolen to grow larger and root. If you pinch off all stolons the stolons that are the plant will become larger and larger until finally you can allow most stolens to grow rather than being pinched out.

Nancy

• jon_d
    19 years ago