Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
korina_gw

Fifteen C. tamiana seed pods!

korina
19 years ago

Eeeek! This is my first time with tamianas (okay, anything) putting out seed pods. I understand I'll likely get 6,000 plants per pod, but I may actually be able to deal with this. Or not. Regardless, could someone give me some clues here? Should I keep feeding the plants? How long should I let the pods ripen? What's the best way to process and sow the seeds? How do I deal with 90,000 seedlings?? Why wasn't this wonderful plant under cultivation decades ago? Speaking of which, how tall will my tamianas get? And has anyone figured out how to clean those velcro-lined leaves yet?

Thanks for any help?

Korina?

Comments (21)

• scryn
    19 years ago

I am not sure about the seeds, however the Chirita tamiana plant will grow like a small violet. It will not grow tall but grows more like a violet in a circular fashion, with the crown in the center. It is about the size of a semi-miniature violet.
    I clean the leaves by washing them under a light stream of warm water. Tamiana doesn't have as many leaf hairs as some of the other gesneriads, but they do seem to be longer.

Also don't think that all the seeds will grow. Most of them won't really. I started my AV seeds in a clam shell container that is used to store sandwiches from a grocery store. I found that worked well. I know that my C.tamiana puts out seed pods often. After a while they will turn more brown and dry. I assume you would harvest them at this point. If you wait too long the pods will start to open sometimes. However I have never tried this, so I would wait till someone can verify this for you before you try it.
    good luck
    -Renee

• jon_d
    19 years ago