Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengal11

What are the largest Competition Size tomatoes?

gardengal11
14 years ago

Does anyone know what the top largest tomatoes grown are? The competition size ones. The only one I know of are Big Zac tomato seeds. I would like to grow and compete some in our county and state fair this year. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments (5)

• terrybull
    14 years ago

my biggest came from a celebrity. about the size of a football. it was probably an oddball

• farmerdilla
    14 years ago

The record is still held by Burpee's Delicious. Big Zac may give more consistant big tomatoes. In general the large beefsteak types will win single fruit weight contests, but not beauty contests.

• greenhousin
    14 years ago

I've been competing for a few years now and my most consistent results have been coming from Big Zac seeds that were saved from previous competition winners.
    I have tried many different varieties over the years.
    Tomatoes which have produced over four pound tomatoes for me are:

Big Zac
    Church
    BelMonte

In 2008 I held the Ohio State Record with a 4.48 pound tomato which was grown off of the variety "Curch". In 2009 I broke that record with a 4.83 pound tomato which was grown off of the variety Big Zac which was a seed from the 5.58 Timm 08. Many competition Growers are now considering the 5.58 Timm one of the first "proven" tomato seeds, meaning that this seed has produced more record breaking fruit than any other known tomato seed. I believe the 5.58 Timm is an F4 Big Zac. My 2009 record was short lived as Nick Harp produced a tomato last year off of the same 5.58 Timm seed which weighed in at 7.18 pounds and is the fourth heaviest tomato ever recorded.