Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomatillo_gw

Giant Watermelon anyone??

tomatillo
18 years ago

Hey everyone. I'm wanting to grow giant watermelon this summer, but am very leery of catalogues advertizing giant anything. Does anyone have any proven watermelon giants? Thanks for the help!

-Andrew

Comments (18)

• mistercross
    18 years ago

I'm not an expert, but the only giant watermelon I've heard of is Carolina Cross. I grew them about ten years ago and they produced regular-sized fruit.

However, they got no special care. They certainly would have gotten larger with better soil and more water. Not sure what is reasonable to expect with proper care.

• wayne_perrier
    18 years ago

Tomatillo: I've grown Carolina Cross 2 years running now. The first year I got a 37 and a 47 pounder, from "stock" seeds I bought from Reimer. Last year I bought a special seed from P&P seed and got a 63 pounder -- I culled everything else on that one plant. They really grow quickly. I'm not too sure about the flavor though. The 37 pounder was actually quite good, but my 63 pounder was a little bland. I think I picked it too early -- it was a tough call because the tendril had broken off.

I'd buy the seeds from P&P -- they have proven stock there. They are not cheap -- you're going to pay $5 or $10. But they are prizewinners.

In terms of planting, dig down really deep -- 3 feet. I like to dig a hole 3x3x3 and fill it with lots of compost and great soil. I watered mine like crazy last year -- 2 gallons per day. Hand-pollenate the female flowers, but cull any that are misshapen -- they should look like little watermelons. Get 3 or 4 going, and let em get to 7-10 pounds each. If any are not forming in a perfect "Hindenberg" shape, cull them. You want to measure the length and circumference of each melon each day, track this, and pick the fastest growing one to keep.

Best of luck and let us know how you do.

• gianteggplant
    17 years ago