Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redblossom40

Need help fast on Giant pumpkins plant

redblossom40
19 years ago

Hi, Will I did it this morning. As I was turning my pumpkin, because it was getting flat on one side. Silly me thought that turning it up right would slow that process down. Anyways the pumpkin is about the size of a basketball and I cracked the vine by it. I was wonder if I wraped the vine with cloth tape would this save the pumpkin. Please help, My plant only has two pumpkins on it and if I lose this one I don't know if the plant will produce another one?

Thanks Tamara

Comments (13)

• douglas14
    19 years ago

Tamara,
    How big is the crack, and does it run with the vine, or across it? Is the crack between the pumpkin and the stump(Where the plant was originally put in the ground), or after the pumpkin? I'm new to growing giant pumpkins, but have learned a lot, from reading similar questions and answers(on another weebsite), that I may be able to help.

Douglas

• redblossom40
    Original Author
    19 years ago

It's about three to four inches and runs with the vine and yes it's between the pumpkin and stump. I went ahead and warped the vine with cloth tape. I hope this helps. Tamara

• douglas14
    19 years ago

Being it runs with the vine, I'd guess it will be O.K.
    I really don't know what, if any treatment is recommended for this. I don't have experience with cloth tape. If it doesn't stretch, it could cause problems if the vine is still thickening. Good luck!

Douglas

• brigi85
    19 years ago

as long as the split doesn't go into the pumpkin's stem, it shouldn't affect the pumpkin. keep an eye on the split, and it will eventually get knarly brown looking and heal itself. don't try to turn it again!

• redblossom40
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Well the tape has worked so far, the vine hasn't die yet and the pumkin is getting bigger. thanks for the infor. Tamara

• leafbrain2003a
    19 years ago

Douglas: