Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
helianthus_grower

giant sunflowers

helianthus_grower
17 years ago

Hi all im new to this site but i have been growing giant sunflower varieties for many years,is there anyone else out there that grows them? if so what are your results?

Comments (16)

• gianteggplant
    17 years ago

I have grown them (Craven, Bott's, Diane's, etc) for the past several years and the tallest had been only 12 ft (but got a near 20' head in 2005). Last year my giant sunflower were permature, and again this season. I don't know the cause but I think it has something to do with the strange weather pattern. As for the height I find that cooler weather actually produce taller plants. The temperature here for the last few days is in the 90s.

• helianthus_grower
    Original Author
    17 years ago

So far this year i have a row of 12 botts strain sunflowers in my front garden that are 10ft tall & are not showing any sign of head formation as yet.I have a 13ft american giant in my back garden which is about to flower as i started it off a bit early (in mid April). I also have a row of 8ft cravens which i started off in mid may.The problem is,is that im moving house in the first week in august & im taking these giants with me,i hope this wont stunt the growth too much.

• farmfreedom
    17 years ago

I believe there exists a " skyscraper strain " that has tall ones the world record is around 25 feet .

• gianteggplant
    17 years ago

hgrower, sunflower don't adapt well when you move them to a new environment, which I have done in the past. Sudden increase in temperature can kill them.
    farmfreedom, The world record strain is Craven. skyscraper is just one of many giant varieties.

• helianthus_grower
    Original Author
    17 years ago