Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andres_zone3

What type of Gingers can I grow in pots for indoors/outdoors???

andres_zone3
14 years ago

Hi, everyone. I would really love to grow gingers in a pot. My plan would be to put them outdoors in Mid May and bring them back inside in mid September. What type of ginger could I get to flower in these conditions. Are they similar to cannas- which can be grown by rhizomes in May and flower in the summer??? Thanks. Andres

Comments (6)

• HoosierBob SW Indiana Zone 5
    14 years ago

Andres,

Zone 6 gardener in southern Indiana here. I'm fairly new to gingers, but no one else has given you a reply, so I'll see if I can at least intiate some discussion. Gingers aren't hardy here, so I do all my growing in pots. I have had good luck with globba winitii. I let it get down to 50 degrees in the winter and it goes totally dormant and is slow to 'wake up' in the spring, but grows quickly and blooms every year. Unfortunately, no fragrance, but really cool blooms.

I also have several hedychiums in five-gallon pots. They stay green at 50 degrees in the winter, but you can let them go completely dormant, too. The challenge in a short growing season like yours, will be bringing them from complete dormancy and into bloom before fall. I would try keeping them cool and alive (green) all winter, which speeds up the new shoots in the spring. The old shoots don't have to grow to keep the plant 'awake' and ready to go.

I would recommend a rich potting soil, a big pot, and lots of heat and water in the sunniest place you have to get them to bloom. From what I have read, they don't like to be planted out and re-dug every season like cannas will tolerate, so I'd keep them in pots. I'd also start with big plants, if possible. Mail order sources vary from dry, very small rhizomes, to huge, growing plants. Small ones may take a whole extra year to bloom.