Return to the Ginger Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
First Ginger...Any advice

Posted by musikisme 7 Reelfoot TN (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 4, 06 at 12:55

I just received my first ginger plant. It looks very healthy and had a great root system. I need any advice anyone can give. I know nothing about this plant. Many web sites offer information, but many varying. I trust those who have been successful growing them, so HELP!!

Thanks, Lori

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: First Ginger...Any advice

Need to know which ginger you have. They all have various growing requirements.

Steve

o

I am posting a picture on the gallery of the ginger plant that I have. Maybe someone can help ID.
Thanks, Lori

o

I'm also new at Gardening in the South. We moved here from Colorado over a year ago now. What a huge difference in gardening. Anyway, we moved into a house that has ginger in the front entry to the house around a huge white bird of paradise. The kind of ginger that I have is Alpinia Zing?.
I've got to take another course in Botanical names. he he LOL
It's currently blooming and has beautiful white bell or trumpet shaped flowers on a stalk, with yellow in the throat.
I don't think it's getting as much shade as it needs where it is, because the one in the front is yellowish looking and the one that gets more shade is beautiful dark green with yellow varigation. My question is how do you transplant them without killing them? I want to put it across the walk way from the one that looks so beautiful. Please help. :>)
Thanks.

o

Andipandabear.