Return to the Ginger Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ginger and heliconia seed help???????

Posted by pyxistorts central florida (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 2, 04 at 12:36

hi all, first post on this particular forum.
was wondering if i could get some help locating seeds on both heliconias and gingers??? are the seeds in the flowers themselves or do they produce a pod after the flower or what??? i'm very new to both expecially the gingers and they're starting to become one of my favorites. i have a couple unnamed gingers blooming right now (will be posting pics soon in hopes of getting them identified) and my heli rostrata is finally putting out a bloom!!!! yahooo! been waiting on this rostrata for about 2 years now to bloom and was ready to give up as i've been told they won't bloom in a pot, but it's a coming!!!!!!
anyways, newbie would love to collect some seeds and try and make even more besides the offsets they're putting out.
thanks soo much in advance and good day all,
steve

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ginger and heliconia seed help???????

Hi-
Not that I am an expert in anyway, but this might get you started...
The rostata may set seed (if you have hummingbirds). With heliconias, the seed will be in the colorful part of the flower- it will probably stick out a bit. It is ready to pick when it is blueberry blue. Wipe the blue part away, plant the whitish seed inside right away. It will take months to sprout. I have not tried rostrata seeds yet, but have a number of seedlings from other varieties, so it is possible. Heliconia seeds are most viable the fresher they are.