Return to the Ginger Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ginger How-to please!

Posted by camikins 7.5 (Pacific N.W.) (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 13, 04 at 20:17

Hi:

I purchased some organic ginger at my local healthfood store, cut it and planted it 'bud-side' down into some soil about three weeks ago. So far, no action.

Is this normal? How long does it take before growth should appear?

I'm not sure what variety of ginger it is. The soil is a standard starter / seedling soil.

Thanks.

Cam

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ginger How-to please!

I am no expert, but if the buds were planted a half inch deep, facing skyward, it would take less time to reach the surface, before the energy ran out in the tuber. Also, soil temp should be about 75-80f and moist to on the drier side, not wet. If they do not appear soon, dig into the soil and give it an inspection if all looks ok,(not rotted=mushy) recover them and hope for the best, if not dispose of them and start over with a fresh chunk...... good luck.

o

I have been able to grow Ginger from non-organic ginger from the grocery store, but it got really leggy, then brown and died out; no flowers of course cuz it stayed pretty small. Did I not have it planted deep enough, or????? What size pot should I have started in (I tried a 6"). Really curious about growing ginger this way, it was sure fun to try and would be even better if it was successful, lol...~Friday~

o

Growing edible ginger from store bought rhizomes is easy (fresh rhizomes are needed, organic vs normal means nothing as far as success rate goes), you just need to give them the right growing conditions. My article linked below covers most of what you need to know. still overdue for the promised photos to accompany it, but that'll come soon.

Tim Chapman

Here is a link that might be useful: growing edible ginger

o