Return to the Ginger Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to pollenate Hedychium?

Posted by TimMAz6 none (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 25, 13 at 8:47

My Hedychiums will be blooming soon and was wondering how to pollenate them to create seed. Anyone have tips? Here's the ginger from last summer.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to pollenate Hedychium?

Hey Tim!

Bob in Indiana here. I did a bit of internet research and found that the male and female parts are somewhat fused in hedychium, so that unlike, say, daylilies, you don't have distinct parts. The long piece out of the middle of the flower has the stigma (receptive female part) on the tip and just below that, the wide part (anther, with pollen). Theoretically, you just take the pollen and put it on the stigma above or onto that of another plant. I have NO experience with producing ginger seed, so I hope someone else will chime in with some tips for you. I know some species like greenii are supposed to be sterile, so there may be some plants that won't make seed for you no matter what you do.

I am guessing your plant is Tara...mine is blooming here, too. A beautiful flower with lots of color and not much fragrance. It's been a very reliable bloomer for me, in a 5-gallon pot. Is yours in the ground?

Hope that information is somewhat helpful. I'm going to include a picture from the internet that you may find of use.

Bob

o
RE: How to pollenate Hedychium?