Return to the Ginger Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with plant ID.

Posted by chena z7 Texas (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 17, 06 at 15:35

I recieved this plant in a trade but I recieved it unlabled.. It has grown all summer but it didn't bloom so I was unable to fingure it out.. I am new to Gingers. I hope you can help...
Thanks and Many Blessings
Chena

Here is a link that might be useful: unknown ginger

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with plant ID.

Hi Chena:

That is a Curcuma elata. It should bloom nicely next spring. It will become dormant shortly if it has not already started to "wilt". But dont worry it is normal for these gingers.

Cocomo

o

• Posted by chena z7 Texas (My Page) on
    Fri, Nov 17, 06 at 19:49

Thank You sooo very much.. I dug it up and brought it in becoz I was unsure.. I just googled it and now I'm wondering if I haven't made a huge mistake by bringing it in...It has only been in a few days.. YIKES!!! What do I do now??? Sorry to be such a doughhead...LOL but HELP... please!!!
I want this guy to bloom..
Chena

o

Fri, Dec 1, 06 at 17:21

Okay!!
I guess it wasn't that bad becoz nobody jumped up to tell me otherwise...LOL
Ya Know!! If I knew the answer I wouldn't ask....YES I can research it but I would rather have true experience as example..I can tell you about alot of things..welding,organic growing,building with wood, reinventing, sewing, cooking and animals... BUT I can't tell you anything about Ginger... Just askin for a little help...
Thanks
Chena

o

Curcuma Elata is rated hardy in Zone 7. They start to go dormant here in Zone 9a in September. The leaves first begin to yellow, then fall over. The blooms on this Curcuma appear before the leaves and show up for me in March. They are tough to bloom in a pot as they need lots of room and might even take a few years to bloom in the ground. They can take almost full sun and seem to bloom better and more reliably with more sun.