Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ragtimegal

Plastic 2-Liter Soda bottles vs aluminum cans

ragtimegal
15 years ago

Hi everyone!

I was just at the grocery store and found myself in a quandry...do I buy the plastic 2-Liter bottle of soda to pour in my own glasses, therefore reducing waste, OR buy the aluminum cans, which are recyclable? I am relatively new to the 'going green' lifestyle, and I am not sure which one overall is better. My instincts said the 2-Liter bottle- less to produce, so in theory, less energy used, less to recycle, etc. However, I have not looked into the actual process of recycling plastic vs aluminum, so I was not sure which was actually better/more efficient.

Am I getting to nit-picky here? My teenager thinks I have lost my mind.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Comments (12)

• ninamarie
    15 years ago

Hi Ragtimegal. I have nothing intelligent to say about whether you should use cans or plastic bottles. I don't know which is better.
    I do have another suggestion, though. And I hope I can make it without coming off as judgemental, or officious.
    If the product being offered is in a plastic bottle or an aluminum can, why buy it? Substitute juice, tea, iced tea, hot chocolate, chocolate milk, water, lemonade, coffee or any cold drink you can make up easily at home.
    This will save your time, money and having to make a difficult choice.
    And yes, your teenager will sulk. But if the plan works, your teenager will inherit your way of doing things, and, your choice will continue to be green into the future.
    Eschew both.

• ragtimegal
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Ah...but I'M the problem!! I love Diet Coke and soda water. I crave the carbonation. I already buy mixes for the kids...I suppose I'm not leading by example very well, am I?? I go off of them in spurts, but I'm off the wagon right now.