Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
freefour

Where to plant gourds

freefour
19 years ago

Hello...like so many others I am new to planting gourds. This year will be my first. My house has a 120 foot fence on one side that is made up of steel posts and heavy duty 4 inch square livestock wire. It is really strong.

My plan is to plant Apple, Dipper, Dinosaur, Luffa Sponge and Birdhouse gourds along this fence. How far apart to I space them each one? I am sure the fence would support them (except maybe the dinosaur??) My thoughts was to dig out several large holes (maybe 2 or 3 feet wide and 3 foot deep) and fill it with very good compost and soil for the seeds. Then just train them up the fence. I usually mow right up to the fence.

On the opposite side of the fence are sheep. Does anyone know if they will bother the gourd vegitation in anyway? They didn't seem to mind or bother my speghetti squash last year.

Am I missing anything here? I would also to build some sort of arbor or overhead trellis so some could hang down, I seen this at botanical garden last year and it was way too cool! But I can't find a cost effective way of making this since money is so tight.

Any comments or suggestions are more than welcomed. I don't really know what to expect.

Thanks!

--freefour

Comments (8)

• gourd_friends
    19 years ago

Wish I had your fence for my gourds! I think it will work just fine. And, I don't think the dinosaur gourd will be any heavier than the others, so plant away!
    As for the sheep, I believe they mostly graze off the ground and shouldn't be a problem.

A lot of gourdening is trial and error, so you just gotta do it! You won't know if you don't try!!

Jan

• sundae
    19 years ago

I have that same type of fence, and my biggest dino gourd grew between the fence! They get tricky and hide from you at times until its to late and their stuck in the fence, not to many though.