Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chapru

Gourds for Birdhouses

chapru
16 years ago

I was considering raising some gourds for birdhouses, but are unfamiliar with them. Tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers yes, gourds no, so maybe someone could help me out.

How many gourds do you get per plant and what size area does the plant normally spread to? Thanks in Advance.

Comments (10)

• sueloring
    16 years ago

I was a beginner growing gourds and learned quickly that gourds plants are long, prolific vines and need lots of room.
    One of the best things I figured out...run them up fences. We use old hog panels. It keeps them off the ground and you can find the gourds much easier and you can spot any bug activity on the gourds.
    As far as growing them ...we mound up hills and grow 3 to 4 plants per hill. For each vine you can expect 5 to 7 gourds. I find if you pick the first biggest gourd right away the smaller ones will take off and all end up same size.If you don't run them up fences give them LOTS of room....as the vines will expand out about 15 to 20 feet each way.
    Each year we plant our gourd seeds and watch them slowly grow for first month and then hot weather hits in late June and then the vines take off.