Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hengal_gw

Anyone just now starting their gourds?

hengal
18 years ago

After experiencing this weird, cold weather, I'm really glad I haven't put them out yet. We're still getting nights in the 40's some nights - very strange weather for the end of May. I just put my seeds in cups lastnight to soak overnight. I'll sow them inside tonight when I get home. The largest ones I'm growing this year are kettles, so I think they'll still have time to mature fully (IF the weather cooperates!!LOL)

Comments (10)

• alda28
    18 years ago

Hi, I am just now finding little gourd plants that came up voluntarily. This is my first time to try to grow gourds and I am exited. I think I am also transplant them into large pots. Good luck.

• hengal
    Original Author
    18 years ago

How fun for you alda28! They're so fun to grow, I'm telling you, you'll be hooked!:)

• sundae
    18 years ago

Although I planted mine about April 25, they are now just coming up with in the last 4 days. It too has been colder then normal here in NW Ia. And along with these beautiful sprouts of course I am getting those hidious weeds!!!!!

Many volunteers too, due to the fact my son played kick the gourd with the ones that started to rot.

Sandy

• barbwatkins
    18 years ago

Yes! I plan to plant mine in July, I do it every year, of course I live in Arkansas and we have a pumpkin patch, so the gourds are just getting fininshed growing right in time for customers to pick their own. I do love them gourds!!

• gourd_friends
    18 years ago

DH got in a hurry and planted the first round about April 20. He has replanted some of those and our second planting of other gourds was May 10. The third planting was around May 17 or 18th. Most everything is up now and we are seeing the first "true" leaves on many plants.

Jan

• tazdevyl1
    18 years ago