Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pumpkins without irrigation

Posted by weirdtrev Z7 MD (My Page) on
Wed, May 16, 12 at 13:41

Does anyone out there have experience growing pumpkins/squash/gourds without irrigation? I was given a lot of space to grow several hundred plants but I likely won't have the ability to water. I know this has been done for a long time and is probably still being done, but all the management plans and field trials I have found use irrigation. I'm just looking for any tips/pointers/resources as I don't really know what to expect doing it this way. I have tons of experience growing pumpkins, but this is my first time without irrigation.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pumpkins without irrigation

The only way I have ever grown them trev. It is hit or miss during drought years. Deep soil and adequate spacing is the big difference in planting. Without a dependable water source you cannot force in dense plantings. Large pumpkins (halloween, Cushaw) I use 10 foot spacing in the row and 8 ft between rows. Then you pray for rain when pumpkins begin setting.

o

I was hoping one of you guys would have experience with that type of planting. It is good to know that they need more space when planted without irrigation. I have about 1/3 of the field planted, and planted denser than I wanted. I did that because there are deer and I didn't know what factor they would play (so far they haven't touched anything). I can make sure to thin to the right distance.