Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
instar8

Gourd seeds: Nick and soak? Nick where?

instar8
16 years ago

Well, I'm not a complete newbie, i've grown a bunch of birdhouse/bottle gourds successfully. I have snake, bushel, corsican/canteen seeds that say, " nick and soak 24 hours before planting.

Soak, I get..where do you nick??? These are big seeds!

Comments (9)

• gourd_friends
    16 years ago

I should be asking the same question. We've nicked and soaked, but who's to say we've done it right!
    We've met lots of nice people in the Indiana Gourd Society, and maybe you should look someone up in your vicinity and have them show you their method.

For this planting, we just soaked the seeds 24 hours, and planted. That was done on May 7, so we should be seeing the first leaves in a few days.

Good Luck!
    Jan

• instar8
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi Jan,

I was busy yesterday, so i drained the cups i had seeds soaking in but left them moist, this morning when i planted them (un-nicked cuz i don't where something important might be) I noted that several had cracks in the coats, they're in peat pots in a flat on a heat mat... hopefully that will do the trick?

I'll look for the Gourd people, but I'm pretty out in in the boonies, hard to find any like minds around here...

lynn

• gourd_friends
    16 years ago

There's something to be said for being out in the boonies......
    Anyhow, I just learned that the 2008 Indiana Gourd Fest will be held at South Bend. I looked on the map, and that's about as far north you can go in Indiana.

We planted our 24-hour soaked gourd seeds on May 7, and most of them are up now. (10 days) A few of them are beginning to develope their true leaves now.
    Let us know how yours are doing.

Jan

• ole_dawg
    16 years ago