Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
misskayle10_3_13

my female pumpkin flowers are falling off!!!

MissKayle10-3-13
9 years ago

Please help! Ive already had one female pumpkin flower turn yellow and fall off, but now my second one is doing the same thing! At first i had the vine running across the ground, but when the first female fell off i thought maybe it could be that it was rubbing too much on the ground, so i took some skewers and crisscrossed them to lift up the vine completely off the ground, but now the second female is turning yellow and looks like it might abort as well. This is my first time growing pumpkins so please any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (12)

• mav72
    9 years ago

If they had already bloomed, maybe they weren't fertilized... Some of my squash plants have pretty bad timing when it comes to having male and female flowers blooming at the same time... The plant will sometimes abort them if it is already supporting a large fruit. Young or stunted plants will also do it... When my spaghetti squash was still small, it was aborting the female flowers when they were still tiny. It grew larger and I have a couple of fruits now.

• StephanieHS
    9 years ago

Hi there, as I understand it pumpkin vines reroot so probably a bad idea to keep the vine off the ground.
    Also, are you certain that they are female flowers that are falling off? I found a site called allaboutpumpkins.com that says not to be alarmed if the first flowers fall off because they are male flowers that only bloom to establish bees coming into the garden.

This post was edited by StephanieHS on Thu, Jun 19, 14 at 17:20

• mav72
    9 years ago