Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie gardening questions

Posted by fritz_monroe 7 (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 9, 08 at 17:33

This is my first year planting a garden. I have 2 zucchini plants that are looking really good. The one plant has a flower that's been open the past couple days, but it's the only flower that's open. There are several male flowers on the plant, just not yet opened. Will the squash this flower is attached to develop even without male flowers open? Does it need fertilized to produce the fruit or only to develop viable seeds?

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie gardening questions

• Posted by nick123 z4b / sunset 44 (My Page) on
    Mon, Jun 9, 08 at 23:09

Depends upon the cultivar. There are a few parthenocarpic zucchini, such as Jackpot that will bear fruit without pollination.

o
other squash

• Posted by nick123 z4b / sunset 44 (My Page) on
    Mon, Jun 9, 08 at 23:17

I should have added that zucchini is Cucurbita pepo, the same species as true pumpkins (not those giant orange hubbards which are C. maxima), crookneck squash, scallop squash, delicata, acorn squash, and many others. If you can get a male flower from any of the above, it will pollinate your female zucchini flower.

o

These are grey zucchini. I don't have any of the other species growing. And looking around the neighborhood, it doesn't look like there's anyone within a 1/4 mile that's growing a vegetable garden. But here's hoping that somehow I have a male flower somewhere around.

I now have 2 female flowers opened up. I posted this same question in another forum and the person answering said that the squash would abort. Know any details of this? Will it just shrivel up? How big do you think it will get before that happens?

o