Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should my squash be doing something?

Posted by standbyq13 6 (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 25, 07 at 18:23

Hi! I'm a little concerned about my squash. I planted 3 acorn squash and 1 butternut squash about a month ago and they have done almost nothing. They were purchased in little pots and are planted in large pots which they are sharing with some green beans which I started from seed at the same time. The beans seem to be doing well, but the squash have done very little. The acorn squash in particular keeps growing new leaves at the bas, but the longer larger leaves are dying. They are in Miracle Grow Potting Soil and are not mulched. It has been hot and dry, but I have kept these watered. Anyone have any ideas or am I jumping the gun? (I also planted a cantolope in a 5th pot and it has grown quite a bit, which makes me even more nervous.) Thanks for all your advice. This is my first year with veggies, and as you can see I'm quite worried!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Should my squash be doing something?

I'm not very experienced with container growing, but I can say that squash generally kind of "sit there" until around the sixth week. Then, suddenly, they take off. Once they start they really go.

You could probably save money, in the long run, if in the future you purchase seeds instead of plants. Even the most measly seed packet will have enough seeds for your needs, for a couple of years, and you can save them in a desk drawer, etc. for that long. They will keep. Planting is a snap; even easier than planting the transplants. Just push the seed into the soil and inch. A seed will probably catch up with a transplant, no problem. (This is an aside from your question :)

George
Tahlequah, OK

o