Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ratrace_gw

Will pumpkins grow back year after year?

ratrace
16 years ago

Im totally new to gardening and planted some watermelons, cantalopes, and pumpkins in our backyard!

I know this sounds like a stupid question, but will any of these items REGROW year after year without replanting them? Like if I just let the pumpkins sit outside and rot!?!?

I know its probably a goofy question, but I really dont want them to continue regrowing year after year in my backyard...I would eventually like to move my "garden" to a new area! :)

Comments (10)

• phantom_white
    16 years ago

They may reseed themselves. I have some sort of volunteer melon that's popped up from last year; so yes, if you let things "go to seed" they'll probably come back next year.

Abby

• ratrace
    Original Author
    16 years ago

So, have I made a mistake by planting about 8 pumpkin seeds in my backyard!?!? In other words, is my wife going to kill me because this will become a problem regrowing NEXT YEAR TOO!?!? UGH!

I was hoping to move my pumpkins to another place next year...I just put them in one area to "test"!

By the way, I am absolutely LOVING gardening!! I didnt know it could be SO much fun!

• bobbi_socal
    16 years ago

Honestly, I think the pumpkins will only regrow if you leave a pumpkin on the ground to break down and rot. I had a pumpkin volunteer come up where I had my compost bins before moving them. We composted Jr's halloween pumpkins and voila!

I think you are safe if all eight seeds grow and at the end of the season you REMOVE anything that might have seeds, ie; pumpkins! ;-)

• weirdtrev
    16 years ago