Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cranialgirl

does this pumpkin look normal?

cranialgirl
14 years ago

This is my first try at pumpkins and they are growing but this is what their leaves look like. Is this normal.

Comments (12)

• weirdtrev
    14 years ago

Oh wow those are beautiful leaves. Yes the leaves are completely healthy, though that pattern is uncommon on vining plants. You normally see leaves like that on most zucchini varieties. Do you know what variety of pumpkin you planted?

• cranialgirl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Actually I bought seeds from Park(which I won't do again, long story) that was Howden, round Halloween style pumpkins, and my Mom also sent me some "neck pumpkin" seeds from PA that she harvested from last year's crop, and I got them mixed up and have 2 of each, but no idea which is which.

Thanks for the reply. My pumpkins have a problem that is the same as my watermelon, squash and cucumbers, that I posted in the vegetable forum, and I was afraid when I saw the stippling in these leaves also that they may have something else going on too.

• cranialgirl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

We put in a raised beds this year, ph good in dirt, fertility tested good. I grew plants from seeds. Cucumbers have whatever this is,the worst, then the squash, the watermelons and the pumpkins. I have been to neighboring gardens and to the local worm's way. I have also tried lookoing at other people's problem pics.
    First I tried cutting off all infected leaves and spraying with Garden Safe fungicide 3. It was back in 2 days. It is on the leaves, stems and fruit.It will not rub off the leaves like a fungus, but you can scrape it off the stem and it seems like it is thick and yellow.

The leaves are being shredded by something, it looks like caterpillar damage but I am out there a lot and not one caterpillar. I have treated for slugs repeatedly.