Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pics of my first pumpkin attempt... feedback please

Posted by regaldozer 6A NY (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 30, 08 at 23:03

this is my first year growing pumpkins. i tranplanted these from HD vartiety called "Pumpkin" said 90 days and i planted end may.

Photobucket

these from a seed packet started the same time..
hill 1

Photobucket

hill 2
Photobucket

i had only one plant for a long time and now 3 more sprung up. i am going to clip at least 2 and maybe all 3 newbies. how many plants per hill should i be thinking?

my first frost average is about Oct 20th so i think I will have enough time for pumpkins, what do y'all think?

also, how do you train the growth tip. I was thinking about a small fence like thing or even stakes in the ground along the line I want the vine to go. I have kind of limited space. so i need to keep it organized.

thanks for any advice

steve

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pics of my first pumpkin attempt... feedback please

Steve,

They look good. I bet you will get a crop before frost.

One way to train a squash/pumpkin is simply to move the vines where you want them to go, as they grow. Also, when the vines get really large and begin to invade part of the garden, where you don't want them to go, you can either pinch out the growing tip, whenever it heads into that area, or perhaps better, simply lift the vines and flip them back upon the plant and away from where you don't want them to go. This works well.

Unless you are very pinched for space I wouldn't bother with trellising. Most squash and pumpkins require a sling type of support for any fruit suspended by a trellis, in order to prevent it from tearing off the vine when it gets heavy. If you opt to do this, I hear that old nylons work well for slings.

George
Tahlequah, OK

o

thanks george

can you tell me what these are ?

Photobucket

o