Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julianna_il

My Blue Hubbard - I ate it, was it too soon?

julianna_il
16 years ago

I know nothing about squash, and this is my first time growing them. So I've got this Blue Hubbard that wilts every morning, and I thought a vine borer, but it has to be the hot morning sun because it perks up in the afternoon. Plus I could never find the worm.

So it had one pretty fruit and I plucked it and baked it. It was smooth skin (light blue), unlike the bumpy skins I see in pictures online. It had whitish meat inside, unlike the bright orange I see in the pictures. And a recipe I found said half it, then bake at 350 for one hour and I did that, and it wasn't fully cooked.

My fruit was about six inches long, tip to tip.

Now my friend says Blue Hubbard are supposed to be huge and not picked til fall, so maybe mine wasn't ready to eat.

Could this be true? I'm awaiting a second fruit, but the vines seem to be only putting out male flowers.

Comments (9)

• robin_maine
    16 years ago

Your friend is right. Blue Hubbards are huge and usually need around 100 days after setting fruit to maturity. You'll probably have female flowers soon.

• wild_forager
    16 years ago

A better question is do you feel alright? Eating unripe fruit can be unsettling.

• julianna_il
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks you guys.

The truth is, we didn't get sick from eating it. My friend said the same thing, that eating unripe stuff upsets your stomach.

I guess now it's time to go eat a bushel of green apples....

• lakedallasmary
    16 years ago

Pick when stem attatched to squash dries up and cracks a bit.

Skin color dulls.

Skin is hard and resists a fingernail.

Winter squash cannot over ripen, but sure tastes horrible when under ripe, so if in doubt do not pick it.