Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cgrendy3

Autumn Gourds by mistake via grocery!

cgrendy3
13 years ago

Hi, newbie here. Sorry if this is already 'old business' with this forum, but I had a wonderful, yet odd story to share. I live in East-Central Indiana. We have lots of gourds, melons, etc. to choose from in the fall, but they can be expensive as they become 'more' exotic-looking -- so I generally buy one or two and that's it! Well, TWO years ago, my 7 year-old son talked me into buying a small net container full of 'decorative gourds' just ' cause they looked like fun to him.

The gourds kinda got passed around to different locations inside and outside our house over the next few months. They eventually dried out -- you could hear the seeds rattling -- and I got tired of looking at them, so I tossed them into an area that we were still working on at the back of our water garden. We have lotsa birds around, so I figured the birds and squirrels might find something more useful with these dried gourds instead of my just sticking them in our covered composter.

Well, that spring... while I was attacking some poison ivy... I noticed some 'melon-looking' shoots breaking ground against the brick wall where I had tossed the dried gourds in the snow back in January or February. Curious, I let them continue their growth... and by the middle of summer, I had only one vine left -- but that vine was about 10-12 foot long and happily growing through and around purple coneflowers, clematis, black-eyed susan, and several other plants that had established a place against that western-facing wall years before!!!