Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pumpkin timeline

Posted by megwithagardenpatch none (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 19, 14 at 5:52

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to pumpkin growing. At the moment, our plants are rocking along, healthily in the sun, with very long vines and lots and lots of potential flower buds. My husband thinks it is already too late for the vines, that the pumpkins should already be formed and growing now in order to harvest in September...

Does anyone know how far along the fruit needs to be, or how quickly they grow?? Thanks heaps for your help :-)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pumpkin timeline

When did you sow your seeds?

Most pumpkins take 100-110 days (some a little less, some a little) from sow to harvest.

I was forced to plant a little late, mid-June. I also have healthy vining plants with nice flowers, my first females appearing but no fruit yet. I am planning on harvesting in early October which should work out just fine!

o

thanks Stephanie :-)

The healthy vines were planted from seedling around the 20th of June. We've had about 4 days of solid rain since then; and besides that lots of sun. An experimental seed I put in a compost pot last year, just sprouted at the start of July and is also trawling along very quickly.

o

It sounds like you should be fine.

Not sure what zone you are in, but could you harvest in early October if the pumpkins need more time?

Sometimes when I come on here and see how far along other gardeners are with their pumpkins, I start worrying that I don't have developing fruit yet. However, if I do the math I am well within 110 days or so, so my pumpkin plants and I just keep on keeping on ;)

Good luck to you!

o

My pumpkin patch just appeared in my compost pile around mid-and April. I have 3 real orange good size and 3 small green ones, How do I tell if my orange ones are ready?

o