Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alexandra_p_gw

First-timer trying to go pumpkins

Alexandra.P
9 years ago

Hi,

I am trying to grow some pumpkins just for fun with my kids. We tried a few years ago, but must not have had enough bees because we got loads of flowers, but no fruit. This year, we are having a different issue. The vine is growing great, but we aren't getting a lot of flowers (we were gone for a week, so I have to admit we may have missed some). We have huge leaves and long growth. I am just wondering if there is something I can do to help get flowers. Should I prune the vine back? Could having too many leaves be blocking sun for flowers to form? Any advice would be appreciated it.

We planted in early June from a seedling. I don't care about harvesting early or anything...just wanted to have some pumpkins for my kids!

Comments (9)

• StephanieHS
    9 years ago

Hi Alexandra,
    I'm doing the same thing, growing pumpkins with the kids :)
    This is my first year with pumpkins, so I'm by no means an expert, but if you are not flowering its possible you aren't using the right fertilizer or enough fertilizer. To encourage flowering, find a fertilizer that is low in nitrogen, higher in phosphorus, something like 5-10-5.

• StephanieHS
    9 years ago

oh and if you have trouble with pollination again, try hand pollinating. It is pretty easy with pumpkins!

• greenturtles6
    9 years ago

Hi!
    Like Stephanie said above, Nitrogen encourages vine and leaf growth in pumpkins (Which is great in the beginning, but not so good when you want flowers), so find a fertilizer that doesn't have much, if you're going to fertilize. I don't know how many plants or how many flowers you're getting per day, but I have four pumpkin plants and am currently getting 4-6 flowers/day. (Sometimes more, if I'm lucky!)
    It also depends on when you planted them. If they just started to flower recently, more and more flowers will appear as time goes on.