Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pumpkins in need of help?!

Posted by scmijo 8 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 29, 10 at 17:17

Hello I'm a first time pumpkin grower and my pumpkins were doing so very well when first planted but now they look sick.

It looks like some of the vines have exploded and yellowish orange bumpy stuff was oozing from the popped vines.

Another case not sure if related to the vine explosion I found some sort of left over bug shells around the vines that have the damage. My pumpkins look like they are all dieing now sort of like they are catching what happened to the first ones to go down.

Any suggestions or help would be great!

I have pictures but I do not know how to post them I'd be more than happy to send the pictures to anyone who could help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pumpkins in need of help?!

Don't fret! Send me your pics at branco83@newpaltz.edu and I will try to help! I've been growing pumpkins for about ten years now.

Joe

o

How awful! We haven't had the problem here (yet), but could it be damage from squash vine borers (SVB)? You might try an Internet search for "squash vine borer damage" images to see if you see something familiar.

If the symptoms look alike, there are several threads here about how gardeners deal with the bugs. What I remember off the top of my head is slitting the stem where you see the "frass" and removing the larvae. Pulling soil over the joints ("leaf axil" might be the proper term) where the leaves and blossoms emerge can help the vine to root there, which might save the plant.