Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to harvest zucchini

Posted by Henju 7 (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 5, 14 at 17:19

This is my first time grow zucchini. The container size is about 3 gallon. I found 3 fruits were blossom end rot (BER). Since then I water twice a day and the problem has been solved.

A couple of them I harvested when they are supermarket-size zucchini. One of the fruits is huge. I do not know when to harvest the fruits.

Are these fruits going to be bigger if I keep them longer?

Female flower

Female Zucchini Flower photo IMG_48161280x960_zpse67226fa.jpg

Female Zucchini Flower photo IMG_48171280x960_zps6920fd9f.jpg

Male flower

Male Zucchini Flower photo IMG_48181280x960_zps354b2b92.jpg

Zucchini July 4, 2014 photo IMG_52601280x960_zps399377b6.jpg

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to harvest zucchini

You'll want to harvest that third zucchini now. It will continue to grow but it's undesirable after it gets bigger than your 20oz soda bottle because it gets seedy with tough skin. Smaller is better! :)

o

I was thinking zucchini fruit may not grow bigger than about 25 cm but change the color and harder the skin. I have tasted a couple of my zucchini when they were about 20 cm long the regular size of our supermarkets. They were tasty and there were no seeds.

This one has been growing very fast I did not expect it. Many people said growing zucchini in containers do not have much big fruits. Now it is 39 cm long and 30 cm in diameter.

Zucchini July 6, 2014 photo IMG_5282960x1280_zps4fbc5ac3.jpg

Zucchini July 6, 2014 photo IMG_5287960x1280_zpsdae66044.jpg

Zucchini July 6, 2014 photo IMG_5279960x1280_zps00190cf2.jpg

It will keep it for seeds :)

Thanks

o

Agree with LCaroline12 about when to pick.