Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lorelei80

My first time ever growing mini pumpkins, need advice? *photos*

Lorelei80
12 years ago

This is my first time growing miniature pumpkins, or any pumpkins for that matter.

My husband and I inherited a garden in the Spring and we are completely new at this whole gardening bit. I thought that I should start off with something small and easy and I chose "Jack Be Little" miniature pumpkins.

I directly sowed the seeds into the soil in April. I only planted one plant because I did not know how much room it would need.

Now the plant has plenty of leaves and flowers. I think I also have some pumpkins beginning to grow, but I am unsure?

Does the plant look healthy? Should I put a piece of wood or something under the baby pumpkins to stop them from touching the damp soil? Is it too late in July to sow one more plant before Halloween (zone 6 Europe)? Are there any other tips that you can give a newbie like me?

Thanks!

The whole plant:

What I think is a baby pumpkin:

Flowers on the plant:

Comments (5)

• terrybull
    12 years ago

that is a female in your second photo and a bunch of males in the third waiting for her. watering regularly. you can put a pile of sand under the pumpkin to keep it dry. i dont think you have time to start any more but you will get more on that plant. it looks healthy and watch on the ends of the secondary vines to see more babys. are you going to hand pollinate or let mother nature do it?

• weirdtrev
    12 years ago