Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elgatoloco

First year growing gourds

elgatoloco
10 years ago

Heyooooooooo. This is my first year growing gourds. I started off with three bottle gourd plants. Two of which are in pots! I've been really happy with the results. I wasn't too sure about growing gourds in pots but it seems to work just fine. Anyway, these little buggers are quickly becoming one of my favorite plants to grow. I'm already looking forward to next year for the larger and more round varieties. And luffas. Gotta grow some luffas. Anyway, I had a bottle gourd plant in the ground that got a severe case of powdery mildew. So I went ahead and plucked the gourds and pulled the plant up. So here's what I got. And here's a little video I made.

Here is a link that might be useful: A quick video of my garden to any intersted party

Comments (7)

• Sid23
    10 years ago

Nice gourds. In your video what type of pepper was all the way to the right in your little retaining wall garden area. Small roundish green ones?

• seysonn
    10 years ago

"So I went ahead and plucked the gourds and pulled the plant up"
    Those gourds probably are not mature and wont be good.
    I have grown same kinds and swan gourds, for several years. They need to ripen and age on the vine till fall. Only danger in my case were the squirrels.

• elgatoloco
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The gourds I picked have not grown in size in over a month. So I'm pretty sure they are done growing. I started the plant back in March so it's been over four months. I would have kept them on the vine but the powdery mildew was taking it's toll and I didn't want it to spread. It hasn't had any new flowers for quite some time.

The peppers I am growing are Big Jim Numex, jalapeno, bell, and a couple of volunteer tabascos. So nothing really interesting or exotic.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

The gourds I picked have not grown in size in over a month