Return to the Pumpkins Squash & Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pumpkins not producing female flowers

Posted by megleigh11 7 (Alabama) (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 22, 09 at 20:57

Hi everybody, its my first time trying to grow pumkins, and I'm having no luck. The plants sprouted up out of an old pumpkin in my backyard in about mid-May. I am keeping them in potted containers, which I think could be a problem. I fertilize the pumpkins with miracle grow organic fertilizer every week.I have lots of male flowers but no females! The temps have been in the 90s-80s with lows in the 70s-60s, and the plants wilt if I do not water them daily. Could they be too stressed to produce females? Will I have pumpkins by halloween? Any help would really be appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pumpkins not producing female flowers

How big are the pots?

Squash and pumpkins need a lot of room for their roots. I wouldn't try to grow one in anything less than a half-barrel.

If you can keep the roots cooler by shading the pots somehow it might help.

o

Thanks! They are not too big. I am planning on planting the pumpkins out in the yard soon.

o

Pumpkins don't like to be transplanted.

Except for people who absolutely have to get a start on a short season, direct-seeding them usually does better. And the smaller they are when transplanted the more likely they are to live.

o

I'm growing pumpkins this year for the first time, too - and so far have 3 fruit developed. I trellis mine, because the vine grows REALLY long!

EG

Here is a link that might be useful: My gardening blog

o