Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deep_south_gardener

Gourd seeds

hey ya'll. this is my first year growing gourds. I planted birdhouse gourds this spring. We had a drought this summer and most of the veggie garden died. I do have about a dozen gourds still on the vine and we just recently started to get some rain so I'm thinking I might just get a few to make into birdhouses. Where do ya'll get seeds from? and what is your favorite kind of gourd and what kind of craft do you make with them? Thanks

Brenda

Comments (9)

• melinda155
    12 years ago

Hey Brenda,
    I like 'em all...lol I've bought, traded and people have just given them to me... What are you looking for? being that you're in the south, you should get bigger and better ones than i can plant up here upstate NY.. our growing season is short...
    I think there's a trader forum here just for gourds...

I just put up a couple of posts of my gourd art... one is bracelet made from a snake gourd. on post was about spinner gourds, but i think it went to page two already, i made ornaments and the 3rd post i sent in was egg gourds...
    check them out... i have more, but i didn't think anyone wanted to see them...
    I love gourds...
    I started an Etsy page...under the name gourdsilly...still working on it.
    melinda

• halecards
    12 years ago

I'm growing bird house gourds, apple gourds, and speckled swan gourds. I saved all my seeds but I did get some bird house gourd seeds from burbee seeds. Everythings growing nicely now, wish you luck with yours!

• weirdtrev
    12 years ago