Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seik4123

Need info on luffa gourds

Sheila
18 years ago

This is my first attempt at luffa gourds. This morning I noticed that my largest ones are starting to dry. Do I pick them now or let them completely dry on the vine? How do I remove the outer peeling to expose the sponge & remove seeds? TIA. Sheila

Comments (12)

• gourd_friends
    18 years ago

Hi Sheila,
    I am less experienced with luffa gourds, but would recommend you leave them on the vine a while longer, at least until the stems are brown and dry.

Jan

• sowngrow (8a)
    18 years ago

I left mine on the vine until they were lightweight and you could easily tell they'd dried. At that point, you can remove them from the vine and peel off the dried skin. Here's one I grew, partially peeled so you can see it's still green, however it will become lightweight as the water inside dries up:

{{gwi:861339}}

• Sheila
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Wow, that's cool! I must go pick mine NOW! They are much browner/yellower then your fruit is. Thx for the pic. The old saying, "a pic is worth a thousand words" really rings true. Thx for posting. Sheila :-)

• sowngrow (8a)
    18 years ago

Your're welcome! Good luck with them Sheila. I made luffa soaps and luffa sponges with mine!
    Robin

• Sheila
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Wow, it was incredibly easy to peel. Mine is not as white as your's, but a nice creamy beige color. Robin, are you my seed benefactor??? Sheila

• sowngrow (8a)
    18 years ago

Gosh-I don't know Sheila. I've traded with lots of people on GW over the years. ;-)
    I have read that some people will soak their peeled luffa sponge in a bleach water solution. I don't do that due to an allergy to chlorine bleach though.

• packrat
    17 years ago