Return to the Gourds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growing an Atlantic Giant in the back yard

Posted by AndyAndy 6bMI (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 11, 05 at 12:16

I planted an Atlantic Giant in my back yard this spring. The plant has gotten quite large (about 800 square feet). I am a novice so I didn't really know what to expect. I finally have a pumpkin that seems to be growing rapidly. I would guess that it is about 10" long with a diameter of about 7". it is getting noticeably bigger every day. I know I'm not going to set any records but is it still possible to get a 2-400 pound pumpkin. At this stage of development is there anything more I can do to increase my chances. I have been watering every 2 out of 3 days. we've had very little rain here the last couple of weeks. What kind of fertalizer can I use. I live on a city block so I can't use anything to smelly. I would appreciate any suggestions. I also have what I think is a "Big Max". I would guess that weighs about 80 pounds.

thanx, Andy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growing an Atlantic Giant in the back yard

Alot depends on what seed you grew....shelf seed or Weeks Atlantic Giant seeds will go up to 200 or so max. Private stock have gone 1400plus. If your seed is from a known pumpkin (ex: 873Andrews04) then yes...200-400 is still possible. Watch for powdery mildew now...spray a fungiside every week and you'll have a good shot at a big'n.

o

Sandbagger-