Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
auntwendy9

Mini Pumpkins on a Trellis

auntwendy9
15 years ago

Hello,

I am brand spanking new to growing pumpkins. I have three nice looking mini pumpkin plants growing in huge containers. I'd like to train them up a trellis but am not sure how. I've never done anything on a trellis before. Tips or suggestions? Should I gently tie the vine to the trellis in places like I do my tomatoes on their stakes?

Thanks so much!

Comments (13)

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago

wendy - I don't know if you're still around, but wanted to see if you were able to trellis your pumpkins. I'm gonna become a first time pumpkin grower next year, and of course, will be trellising them. I'm growing some jack be little, and some large ones, as well. I'll be blogging about it, if you wanna check the progress....Thanks!

EG

Here is a link that might be useful: EG's garden blog

• liisa_rwc
    15 years ago

EG,

I too want to grow pumpkins.. I will have to grow them in pots and trellis them as well. I'm going to try the Mini Jack... but really want to grow sugar pumpkin so I can make pies.

So I'm curious to know what type of pumpkins you are going to grow and how you are going to trellis them?

Thanks!
    Liisa

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago