Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myhomelife

No pumpkins in my garden yet?

MyHomelife
12 years ago

Hello,

I planted my pumpkins the first of June & they started sprouting quickly but, seem to have come to stand still. The leaves did start turning yellow and some were wilting and there was a lot of intruding grass (I didn't till well enough) but, we cleared out the grass bought some vegetable food & gave each sprout its own new pile of dirt around it and they seemed to have perked up since then and

Yesterday August 4th I finally saw an orange bloom. Then another one today. But, from what I can gather from searches I should already have pumpkins? I am so confused :ox

This is my first time planting anything so I wasn't expecting a huge turnout but, I would have liked at least one pumpkin lol

Thanks for any and all help :o)

Comments (8)

• MyHomelife
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hmm I followed the directions on the package that said Mid may to early June, and an article from a local newspaper said:
    "Early to mid June is about right if you�re going to plant seeds directly into the ground."

I thought I was planting early in hopes of giving them a head start.. If I wont see pumpkins until the vines are 8-10 feet long then I better start hoping the great pumpkin comes blesses my garden lol.
    I have no vines they are just sprouts popping up from the dirt about 4 inches...
    Ah well maybe next year I will have better luck...

So does anyone know what size they SHOULD be about this time?

• planetes
    12 years ago

That is a very hard thing to say due to local climate conditions varying between everyone. Where are you located? What has your weather been like?

Mine are just now reaching the point of producing female blossoms.

Typically I would say early to mid may is a good planting time depending on locale.

Also how often are you watering them and how were they fertilized? They do like to grow in spurts so they may take off this month.