Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rex888_gw

Drying gourds in Minnesota

Rex888
18 years ago

I'm a beginner in southern minnesota. I am wondering if my gourds can be put in a unheated, unattached garage after they have been harvested? I will have quite a few and don't want to put them in the basement of my house because of the mold. It gets very cold here with many below zero days. Have any of you northerners had experience with this? Rex888

Comments (3)

• TheGourdReserve
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello,
    I just posted the following to another question and figured it may help you as well so I am coppying it here too.
    The gourds can be put it the garage, or just left outside on the vine all winter. They actually dry faster when left on the vine all winter. You can green clean too. The only thin you have to be worried about doing that is if you want seed for next year. If the seeds freeze they may not germinate. All you need to do there is take the gourd you want for seed into the garage and they should be just fine. Do be careful with the mold. My post below explains the mold and I'll put in a link to our web site too.