Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jlneale

Pumpkin leaves losing color, turning white

JLNeale
10 years ago

Hi there! This is my first time growing much of anything, and I'm so excited to have even made it this far.

I have 3 Baby Bear pumpkin plants which I've just transplanted to this tub. I'm hoping it's just because they needed more space, which they now have, but one of the 3 plants in here seems to have a problem. The leaves are losing all their color. There doesn't seem to be any sort of residue to wipe away, it's just bleaching out and feeling very wilty/droopy. There are a couple spots on other leaves that do look like mildew (and I've just today sprayed a baking soda mix that my mom told me to do- fingers crossed it works). But this is just a retraction of color happening, and quickly. It seems to only be happening to one of the 3 plants.

Does anyone know what's going on and if I should try to pull this plant out and just keep the other two? I worry that I would damage the roots of my other ones (I planted the seeds 3 inches apart in a circle, as instructed by seed packet, and that's about how far apart they remain).

Also, a stem cracked in transplant on this same plant- do I cut that leaf off or band-aid it?

PS- It is getting plenty of bright sun, and I only water the soil, making sure the leaves never touch water (unless it rains). I have Organic Choice Potting Mix from Miracle Gro and have yet to "feed" it, as I've been nervous about throwing of the pH.

Thank you so much for any help you can offer!

Comments (8)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Pumpkins, Three of them, In a small pot ? This time of the year ? In NY?
    I don't think it will do any good. But it you want to have fun with it, just pinch off the one that is not doing well. Two plants are way too many in that pot anyway.
    JMO.

• ceth_k
    10 years ago