Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gingerkitty_gw

Can I train pumpkin vines up a trellis or fence?

gingerkitty
9 years ago

Hi! Newbie here, so I apologize in advance for any posting mistakes I might make. It's fall here in Iowa, and I miss having pumpkins. Last year there were plenty from grandma's garden, but none got planted this time around. Recently moved from an apartment to a townhome, so I have a little bit of planting space that I can work with. Sadly, it would be on the north side of the place. And I would need to train these vines up a trellis or fence of some sort, since I can't let them grow all over the lawn. Thing is...I'm not sure how I would go about doing this. Can I even make this work? I don't want anything enormous, but a few pie pumpkins would be nice. Thanks for any and all help! :)

Comments (4)

• springtogarden
    9 years ago

Yes you can! Your fence needs to be sturdy and you will need to help train the plant. I used plant ties that people here recommended on Amazon.com. There are velcro ones and tape. I used the velcro and it worked great in 3 HUGE wind storms. Since you are growing the small pie pumpkins, it is up to you whether to use a hammock under the fruit. I didn't and nothing snapped. Supposedly, the stems become stronger when grown in the air so you don't need a hammock. But some people feel that they will snap off so you might want to use nylon or something else to support your pumpkin. Someone here had an unsupported one snap off. My fruit wasn't very heavy so I am not sure at what point they can snap off. If you google trellis, you can find crazy things that people train up a a fence, trellis etc. and not all of them are small sizes :).

• gingerkitty
    Original Author
    9 years ago