Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brymalis

Female Pumpkin Flowers Not Opening

brymalis
16 years ago

I planted Memorial Day and had females in early July. the first one opened and pollinated and died in a few days, and at the same time, several others died before opening. I looked here and saw that it may be due to high heat. The weather became milder, and plants kept growing wildly, looking very healthy, with males opening daily, and females continuing to die, some very small and some at size when I would expect them to open. It is still happening -- the flowers look very healthy but just do not turn yellow like I expect the day before opening. Can I manually open and pollenate when they are at full size? Is it just too late to get pumpkins?

Comments (16)

• tanoota

(Looks around sheepishly)

This is my first year with gourds and pumpkins...
    Please, how do you know which is female and male and why does it matter?

• tanoota

Hello,

Can anybody help us?

• tanoota

• tanoota

Hello,

Can anybody help us?

• tanoota

• weirdtrev
    16 years ago

It might be too late for you up in zone 5. You shouldn't be able to manually open them since they aren't fully formed at that time. But I encourage you to try anyway maybe you'll get lucky. If you have lots of green leaves but no frut it could be an excess of nitrogen. Also it could be too little fertilizer, although I typically don't get around to fertilizing other than mixing some compost into the hole and I still get pumpkins. If the vines wilt a lot during the day you might need to water more so that the plant isn't overly stressed.

Female flowers have a small lump (a baby pumpkin or gourd) under the flower and male flowers flowers do not have this. You can find pictures online just search for male and female pumpkin flowers. It matters if you want to hand pollinate. I typically do since I find there aren't enough bees since it is rather common to be scared of them and have them all killed.

• brymalis