Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
junezn7

Pictures of my gourds

junezn7
19 years ago

Hello everyone--I have not posted on this forum before, but wanted to show off my gourds. I am not an artist or crafter--but have had a blast just growing them. A client of mine from work brought me a single gourd back from her vacation to Georgia or North Carolina (?). It had been cleaned out for a birdhouse, but 3 or 4 seeds remained inside. I am a compulsive gardener, so I just couldn't throw those seeds away! There are three totally different shapes of gourds growing (all from the single parent). The structure that they are growing on is the frame of my hoophouse/greenhouse that I cover with plastic in the fall. The photos were taken earlier in the summer. The plants have still not died completely--I am just going to cover them over and wait them out. I have banged my head (knocked myself silly) then turned around and banged it again--SO MANY TIMES--you'd THINK I would learn!!!

I think next year I would like to grow some luffa (?) and/or the short fat bowl type. Its been a LOT of fun. I am pleased to find this forum.

~June

Here is a link that might be useful: My gourds

Comments (14)

• Lillie1441
    19 years ago

June-Lucky You!!! I wish those were growing in my yard.It is strange that there is more than one kind of gourd growing from the same vine.Did you plant more than one seed? Could the seeds possibly have been from more than one kind of gourd and somehow ended up in that gourd? Of course I'm no authority on the growing phase of gourds so this may be natural.
    From what I understand you shouldn't cover the vines with anything.Just let them die back as they normally would.Then after the vines are completely dead you could cover the frame as you normally do for the winter.I would just leave the gourds hanging as they are after the vines die back and let them dry there as long as they have plenty of air circulation.