Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenkiwi_gw

My attempt at wood burning

GardenKiwi
17 years ago

After looking at Gene's site I thought I would post a photo here of the little gourd that I attempted to woodburn. I finally colored it with oil pencils - I like those so much better than paints - I can't paint worth toffee! The oil pencils make it like the little old coloring books where you just "painted" by stroking over the areas with a wet brush! Couldn't be easier for sure! Just remember - I am new to playing with gourds!

Rita in Michigan

http://s6.photobucket.com/albums/y210/MagicKiwi1/RITAS%20GOURDS/

Here is a link that might be useful: Patchwork Gourd

Comments (12)

• whte_mountian_witch
    17 years ago

those are realy impressive. very nice work for someone new to using gourds

• gourd_friends
    17 years ago

Rita, there are some lovely pieces in your photo file.
    Keep up the good work.

Jan

• genepa
    17 years ago

Hi Rita, Very nice artistic work on your gourds, both on woodburning and painting. I've used oil pencils and water color pencils on both gourds and wood and find them easy to use. I'm not much at painting but after I've burned a picture on a gourd or wood I find that adding color using those pencils is like coloring something in a coloring book. Keep up the nice work. Gene

• GardenKiwi
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks all!
    That little gourd was an experiment and it looked funny just with the woodburning. I got the oil pencils a couple of weeks ago and wanted to try them - so I experimented on the experiment! My husband is a geographer so he said it looked like a Land Use map of Japan. It does look like a neophite cartographer was on the job - Rand McNally will not be contacting me soon I guess. :::sigh::: I sure have a long way to go but it is a start!

• lilies4me
    17 years ago