Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenjay_gw

Moving gourds

greenjay
18 years ago

Hello,

I currently live in coastland North Carolina and am getting ready to move to South Carolina in about a month ( late November ) any tips or suggestions for safely moving all the gourds that i've grown this year .

I still have a bunch still on the vine, but our nights are now gwtting down into the mid 50's so vine die-back seems to accelerating quickly .

I really don't want to lose any of these guys . This is my first time growing gourds and i've got close to 80 gourds , some which are rather large !

Any advice will be deeply appreciated .

Thanks !

Jay

Comments (6)

• gourd_friends
    18 years ago

Jay,
    My best advice would be to leave them with a friend or relative and go back to get them when they've dried. If that's not an option, just pack them carefully and hope they don't bounce around too much during the move.
    One thing to remember, they are only gourds and you can grow more next year.
    Let us know what you decide.

Jan

• greenjay
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Jan,
    Thanks for the advice . Since I'm selling the house, I'm not sure that the new owners will want them hanging around here .
    As for growing more next season, well, I currently live in the country on an acre and a half, and am moving to a brand new home in a new sub-division with a small yard . While I'll be able to put in a gourd plant or two ( maybe 3 ) I certainly won't be able to have the amount that I had here .
    Plus, these are my first gourds ! I really can't stand the thought of leaving them behind or giving tham up.
    I'll let you know what I', able to sort out here.
    Many Thanks !
    Jay

• gourd_friends
    18 years ago

I remember our first gourds.......LOL.