Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
celiaheady

Storing gourds some rotting in cold winter area

celiaheady
14 years ago

I need help! This is my first year growing gourds and I ended up picking 30 of a variety ranging from birdhouse to bottle and snake gourds after a slight frost. Put them on pallets in a shed about a month ago. Today I saw where some are rotted (soft and can poke a finger through), many have black spots, a few with white and reddish. A friend said to take them inside (70degree) for the winter to save them and they were rotting because of the freezes. I do not want them as an eyesore in my house. Read your forum and have taken them inside earlier today, thrown out the obvious rots, washed the rest in a bleach solution and scrubbed some to get most of the odd colors off. All are mostly green. Some have softer skin. I hope I can save what is left. They are drying from my bleach wash. Can they go back on the pallots in my shed where they will freeze? How should I proceed? Any experience is appreciated. Celia

Comments (6)

• country_blooms
    14 years ago

I've been growing gourds in zone 5 for 6 - 7 years. Freezing doesn't hurt them. I always loose a few to rot. They are usually the ones that weren't quite mature when the first frost hit. Mold on the outside is a normal part of the drying process and isn't harmful. That's what gives the dry gourd their wonderful shading. If the mold bothers you, you can keep wiping them down with bleach/water solution, but I've never been able to keep away all of the mold so I quit doing that. I leave my gourds outside all winter, right in the garden where they grew. By spring they are lighter to move, and the exposure to the weather has cleaned most of them. Gourd growing is addicting. Come join in the fun!

• celiaheady
    Original Author
    14 years ago