Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chazzymc

Warty gourds - what now??

chazzymc
19 years ago

Hi everyone,

Since I'm a novice, I didn't realize that the term "warty gourds" does not refer to uncleaned gourds, even though these hadn't been cleaned. I assumed incorrectly.

Now that I have some, I'm at a loss of what to do with them. Can someone point me in the right direction? Any tips for working with these?

TIA,

Charlie

Comments (10)

• gourd_friends
    19 years ago

Hi Charlie,
    Welcome to the forums. Can you tell us a bit more about the types of gourds you now have? Are they ornamentals or the hard shell variety? The warty type can be either.

Just keep feeding us enough information and someone here will come up with the answers.

Jan

• chazzymc
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi Jan,

At least one is not hardshelled. When I opened the box it was broken and the shell was paper-thin and it was shaped sort of like a fig. Most of the others seem to be pretty sturdy. There are a variety here. Some look like mini-canteens, mini-dippers, some are ornamental, there are some that look like dippers except they have flanges that stick out like a bunch of little wings. Some look like they are trying to be a D'anjou pear, not the Bartletts like most pear gourds. Some are just bumpy all over. There is one that sort of resembles a banana gourd.

If I can figure out this danged digital camera... My pictures are either too light or too dark.

Charlie

• gourd_friends
    19 years ago

Charlie, they sound like a variety of ornamentals. These are typically a small, colorful gourd used in Autumn decorating. They can be preserved as a hardshell gourd, but are usually just tossed after Thanksgiving.
    What colors are the gourds?
    Do they feel solid, or do they feel very lightweight, and rattle when you shake them?

Jan

• chazzymc
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Some are pretty solid feeling (like a hardshell would be) but they are light and rattle too.