Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandhill_farms

Planting Seeds vs. Starting In Greenhouse

sandhill_farms
19 years ago

I'm getting ready to send my heirloom tomato seeds to a nursery who will start them for me. The reason I'm doing this is because (1) I don't have a greenhouse, (2) because living in the desert I need to get a jump on the season before the hot weather arrives, (I'll have the plants in the ground by March 1st). My question is: would it be necessary to have the gourd seeds started as well, or should I just plant them in the ground when the soil warms-up, (sometime in April). I would prefer the latter to cut costs. Our growing season lasts unil "at least" September or later. Thanks for the help.

Greg

Comments (12)

• Lillie1441
    19 years ago

Greg-I'm no expert on growing gourds (I just paint em!),but I would think with that long of a growing season,putting the seeds in the ground would work just fine.I'm sure someone with more experience than I will throw in their 2 cents here...Lillie

• JerseyMike
    19 years ago

I've always had better luck with direct sowing. Gourds seem to be VERY sensitive to root disturbance. My transplanted gourds always seem stunted and grow slower than seeds planted in the ground even when the direct sowing occurs after I transplanted the first batch.

• charly1
    19 years ago

My 2 cents.......
    Last season I tried it both ways.
    I wanted to get a jump on the growing season and started seeds in foam cups until they were about 2 inches up.
    The SAME DAY I transplanted them in the ground I planted a few hills of seeds.
    It wasn't long until the direct planted seeds overtook the transplanted ones. Well into the growing season there was no difference in plant size or quality.
    Lesson; No more wasting time with gourds in foam (or any other type of) cups.

• homegrown54
    19 years ago