Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newinterest

seeds or plants?

newinterest
19 years ago

Hi everyone...first time user. I'm new to this whole world of gardening. After having no interest in anything green my first 35 years I've become strangely attracted to the ornamental grasses everytime I walk through a garden center. I've decided to act upon my urges and this spring start my first garden. I've been studying grass types, zones, ect., and have started looking at websites for seeds and plants. Actually that is my question, should I begin with more expensive plants or the cheaper seeds? I've heard grasses grow alot in just one summer. Thanks for any advice you can give!

Sincerely, Brian

Comments (3)

• Pudge 2b
    19 years ago

Do you have specific grasses in mind? Many cultivars are not available from seed and you'd have to start off with plants.

I haven't found grass from seed to be particularly fast growing, certainly not in the first year. The second year they put on more growth and in the third year usually come into their own. Purchased plants, though, can put on a lot of growth in one season.

Another thing to remember is grasses which are easy from seed are going to be easy to reseed in your yard. As an example, Blue Fescue (Festuca glauca) is very easy from seed, germinates readily and looks like a pretty good plant by the end of the first growing season. It also reseeds freely after it's third year and then you have to contend with the hundreds of seedlings. Blue Oat Grass (Helictotrichon semperviren) on the other hand, is possible but not easy from seed nor will you be bothered with seeding out. Then there are Blue Fescue cultivars which are sterile.

You don't necessarily have to start off with large purchased grasses - there are plugs available if you want several of one specific type of grass.