Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dalehileman

Sweet flag

dalehileman
14 years ago

If you're interested in grasses

.....and also scientific names

http://www.gardenbuddies.com/forums/advice-and-makeovers/4930-scientific-names.html

In any case I'm a rank amateur at the latter while I offer the following technicalities as confusion on point:

When my white-striped Japanese sweet flag (Acorus gramincus 'Variegatus') a green grass with pale yellow stripes, died, I replaced it with what I offhandedly assumed was identical, being of the same genus and species

Labeled "Variegated Sweet Flag (AG 'Argenicostriatus')" it looked quite the same, though it was also called "Bandera dulce multicolor". I am wondering

(1) If the original was 'Variegatus'

....(a) then must its replacement 'Argenicostriatus' not be slightly different variety, and if so

....(b) isn't the "Variegated" in its common name somewhat misleading, and

....(c) what kind of terminology is "Bandera dulce multicolor" as a quick Googling was unsuccessful

(2) I have run across a photo of sweet flag having actually white stripes not pale yellow then

....(a) aren't my specimens misnamed, or

....(b) am I expecting a more rigorous system of terminology than actually attains

Comments (3)

• donn_
    14 years ago

There is a world of confusion in the scientific names of plants, and even more in the common names.

Taxonomists are forever changing plant scientific names, most often by deciding they should be classed in a different genus or species than they currently are.